People are not standing without trust, the company does not have faith without reaching." It represents a kind of conduct and responsibility that can win a good reputation for the company.

Eddie has served in the tourism industry for more than 10 years, he has gradually accumulated a wealth of management experience, capabilities and resources. His inspiration for the creation of the Sunshine Kingdom business in 2014 stems from his favourite durian.

His grandfather once owned a durian garden. In his childhood, Eddie not only learned to eat durian, but also had a deeper understanding of durian. He believes that the “typical bad smell” durian is a seasonal fruit, so he hoped that local and foreign tourists can enjoy delicious and unique durian at any time, which gave him a glimpse of business opportunities.

If you want to succeed, you must learn to fall in love with your own business. If you start your career, you must have passion so the results will be more effective. Tourism is a pillar of the country’s economy and souvenirs are the best medium for promoting tourism.

In order to promote the concept of Durian culture in Malaysia, in 2013, Aesos and like-minded friend Eddie Wong (founder) created the first Durian Cafe store in the central art area of Kuala Lumpur. The store sells all kinds of ready-to-eat and packaged foods of durian and recommends visitors to enjoy the good taste of durian combined with various foods such as coffee, chocolate, and pancakes. Due to the successful concept of Durian Store, the second Durian Cafe branch opened in Kuala Lumpur.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s5k04y8isuw

Deliver the Taste of Durian

2018 Promotional Video

The Company was formed in 2014 based on an idea envisaged by Aesos Lai who was in the T-Shirt design business. The idea of a “Durian Kafe” (a durian down-stream retail outlet), was mooted from a concept derived from one of his T-shirt designs which was popular as a souvenir amongst tourists. Aesos was encouraged by a close friend who told him that the “Durian Kafe” concept will appeal to people who like something unique, durian-related food items, and another friend told him that the next “BIG” thing is Durian which is getting popular amongst Chinese tourists from mainland China.

With this conviction, Aesos (who is strong in Branding and Marketing) invited Eddie Wong (who is a specialist in Retail and Operations and has more than ten years experience in managing retail outlets) to set-up Durian Kafe along with two other friends (Sashtri the designer, and Kaycee the Sales and PR person). In March 2014, Durian Kafe was set up in Central Market with products sourced from suppliers.

Subsequently in May 2014 Aesos suggested to Eddie that instead of buying from suppliers, they should create their own product brand to be sold in Durian Kafe – and this led to the set up of a new company called “Sunshine Kingdom” (Eddie coined the name as he sees Durian as the “upcoming” Sunshine Business, and a Kingdom can be built based on selling Durian Products). A year down the road, they realised that Chinese Tourists (who were their main buyers) could not read nor remember the “Sunshine Kingdom” brand name in English. In order to build a lasting impression on Chinese tourists, a catchy product brand name is necessary – and the “Xiao Yang” brand was created (which means ‘tourist delicacies business will bring great fortune everyday’) – the name was created by Eddie on his holiday trip to Taiwan.

The “Xiao Yang” brand started with Wafers, Cookies and Candy as there were not many competitors in this category, and the main sales areas were at the Airports, particularly KLIA and KLIA2.

As a start-up with limited funds, in the first two years’ of operations, Sunshine Kingdom experienced moderate growth in terms of sales and product range. Subsequently, with strong commitment to expand product range, business began to increase tremendously in 2017-2018, with sales growth of 70% over these two years. Today, Sunshine Kingdom is the Brand Leader in Durian down-stream products.

Company Vision

Promote the “Durian culture” in Malaysia, so that people around the world can recognize the durian in Malaysia and also enjoy the durian. Malaysia can also enjoy the name of “Nation of Durian”.

Company Vision

Sunshine Kingdom’s Vision is to create and promote a reputable Food Souvenir Business, with special focus on nice-packaging, great-tasting and good-quality edible gifts for tourists – a “MUST-BUY Brand” when they visit Malaysia.

Future Development

We have more than 70 kinds of durian products – downstream processing products at the moment, and then we will go to fresh fruit, frozen products, baked products, and strive to create a combination of upstream and downstream production chain. We will open our own brand of durian experience shop, so that people around the world always able to enjoy the taste of durian.

Corporate Culture

“People do not stand without trust, company do not have faith without reaching”. It represents a kind of conduct and responsibility, in order to win a good reputation for the company. “Integrity wins the world” is the core culture of our company, and Eddie has also established eight honourable and shameful regulations.

BRAND IDENTITY & RECOGNITION APPROACH

Sunshine Kingdom intends to promote Durian as a “Happy Fruit”. In general, people who like/love durian feel happy when eating the fruit. Hence, Durian is seen as a fruit that gives “Happiness” and “Full Satisfaction” to consumers in this region. Additionally, people tend to come together for a “durian session” and this shows that Durian is the only fruit in the world that can unite people, – Sunshine Kingdom calls it “DurianUnited”.

In terms of brand identity, Sunshine Kingdom differentiates itself in most retail outlets via the display of a “Giant Durian” (a six-foot cardboard Durian or a six and a half foot 2D Fiberglass Durian), which has become the Company’s trademark.

Additionally, the most unique selling proposition of Sunshine Kingdom is the adoption a “filial piety” approach in its coffee design packaging that features the founders’ parents and parents-in-law – this concept was the brainchild of Aesos who firmly believes that filial piety is an expressed deference of “Gratitude & Respect”, and such conception can help the company build a strong foundation in business management ethics and values moving forward.

BRAND AWARENESS & SALES PROMOTION

To build a sustainable brand name and to promote sales of products, Sunshine Kingdom uses multiple channels:-
Advertise in print media – AirAsia’s In-Flight Magazine: Travel 360 and GoAsiaPlus.
Develop Product and Corporate Videos and post them on social media platforms to promote the brand.
Conduct on-site promotions in airport shops and supermarkets offering consumers “Buy 4, Get 1 Free” deals, etc., which increases sales incrementally by 30% to 50% during the promotion period.

MARKET

Sunshine Kingdom is a major FOOD SOUVENIR player in Malaysia. It aims at offering tourists and business travellers from all over the world a “Truly Malaysian Durian Experience” – whereby everyone who visits Malaysia will want to take home a piece of the local flavour in the form of the very unique Durian Products as “Souvenirs”. Sunshine Kingdom products, are specially designed and packed as “Premium Food Souvenirs” ranging from Fresh Durians, Coffee, Tea, Chocolate, Freeze Dried, Candy, Biscuits & Confectionery, Hot and Cold Products, and are targeted mainly at Asian tourists and business travellers, particularly from China, Indonesia, Vietnam, Hong Kong, Taiwan, Singapore, Macau and South East Asia, etc.

This “tourist-focused” strategy has resulted in a durian-related product market share of about 20% presently, of which 95% of its customers are tourists.

Given that the “Food Souvenir” (Gifting) trend has been growing steadily over the past few years, and that the Durian Trend is envisaged to grow even further in the next five years, Sunshine Kingdom hopes to capture a 40% market share within the next five years.

THE SK (SUNSHINE KINGDOM) BRAND JOURNEY

2014 :
Introduced new products and created attractive packaging designs

2015 :
Grew product range aggressively

2016 :
Provided “Positive Experiences” for customers – focused on building the ‘SK Brand’ (since products can be copied but brands can’t be copied)

2017 :
Brand gained reputation and received positive perceptions plus growing acceptance through reinforcement of customer awareness (e.g. advertising in AirAsia’s In-Flight magazine)

2018 :
Brand reflects success and popularity

RECENT DEVELOPMENTS

Going forward, Sunshine Kingdom intends to promote its brand to not just tourists but also the locals and eventually may consider venturing into the franchising business.

To kickstart the process, Sunshine Kingdom opened a flagship outlet in Central Market under the brand name “Durian Kingdom”. The objective is to have a one-stop complete Durian Experience shop, offering a vast variety of products ranging from Fresh Whole Durian Fruit, Packed Frozen Durian, Hot Durian Products (Tart, Buns, Fried Dumplings, Nasi Lemak, Hot Coffee), Cold Durian Products (Cendol, Ice Kacang, Ice Coffee, Ice Cream) as well as Packed Durian Downstream Products (Chocolate, Coffee, Freeze Dried, Biscuits and Confectionery).

Developed more than

70
of products

Won more than

20
Awards

Distribution up to

200
in the market

Musang King Durian Tongkat Ali White Coffee

Tongkat Ali is a special product of tropical rain forests in Malaysia. It is commonly known as “Nanyang ginseng” and is regarded as a unique national treasure. Drinking coffee is an important part of Malaysian Chinese food culture. The “white coffee” from Ipoh is famous for its rich and smooth flavor and quickly became the new favourite of coffee drinks. Durian and Tongkat Ali are all nourishing ingredients. With warm white coffee, the effectiveness can be fully realized.

Musang King White Coffee

“Musang King” is the most popular durian in Malaysia. Musang King is full of fragrant, dense and sweet taste, which unforgettable after eating. The conditions for the growth of Musang King fruit trees are harsh and the production is susceptible to climate change, so the price is quite expensive. The unique slow roasting technique makes the white coffee sensationally pleasing, and it is surprisingly popular with the strong smell of Musang King.

Durian Chocolate

Do you know? Dating back to 65 million years ago, durians and cocoa trees (the raw materials for making chocolate) were originally a family and related; therefore durians and chocolates are inherently a combination of heaven and earth. After eating them, you must not forget them.

Durian Pralines Dark Chocolate

Dark chocolate tastes rich and full-bodied with a bitter taste. The sandwich durian fillings sprout from deep cocoa aromas and quickly invade your taste buds.

Durian Freeze Dried

There is a kind of durian if you taste it, you will be amazed, it’s Musang King! Musang King flesh is dry, its skin is wrinkled, its taste is sweet and bitter, or it has a scent of wine. It is the best of durian. Durian Freeze Dried has preserved its original flavor, just like eating fresh Durian.

Durian Biscuit

Traditional baking is a snack for every Malaysian. Combine maltose and durian, and when you bite out the durian and maltose, the crust is crispy and tasty, allowing you to take a sip. With a cup of durian coffee, it is definitely a great enjoyment of life.

INTERESTING FACTS

· Sunshine Kingdom is the first company to have ALL its products packaging featuring Malaysian Landmarks and Culture.
· Sunshine Kingdom is the first company in Malaysia to adopt a “filial piety” approach in its coffee design packaging that features the founders’ parents and parents-in-law.
· Sunshine Kingdom is the first company to emphasize durian species in their range of Durian Coffee (Musang King, D24, Durian Kampong) due to their unique tastes.
· Sunshine Kingdom is the first Company to introduce Musang King Kopi Luwak in the world.
· Sunshine Kingdom started with just 6 products in 2014, and has grown to a total of 85 products today, within a short span of 4 years.
· Eddie was a customer of Aesos, who is a Distributor of Tourist Souvenir Products in KLIA

ACHIEVEMENTS & ACCOLADES

From just six products in 2014, today Sunshine Kingdom has a total of 85 products. For a relatively young brand, Sunshine Kingdom has received an astonishing number of accolades:-

· Sunshine Kingdom is the first company to be given recognition by the Malaysia Book of Records for the Most Number of Durian Related Products in 2018.
· Superbrands Award (2018) – First Durian Company in Malaysia to be awarded Superbrands Status.
· The BrandLaureate Award (2017/2018) – SMEs Best Brands Award @ Retail (Snacks and Confectionery).
· Asia’s Top Leaders’ Award – Top Awards 2018
· Asia’s Top 100 Honesty Brand Award (2017)
· Sin Chew Business Award (2017) – Business Excellence Award
· Asean Outstanding Business Award (2017) – Asean Most Recognised Brand in Durian Made Native Products.
· International Prestige Brand Award (2017) – Best Brand in Packed Durian Products
· World Top Gourmet Awards (2017) – Top Brand Excellence Award
· Malaysia-China Silk Road Award (2016) – International Entrepreneur Excellence Award

Recommended for Visitor, Friends and Family

27-G, 27-1, 25-G, Jalan Bandar Lapan Belas, Pusat Bandar Puchong, 47160 Puchong, Selangor.
03-8082 4828 | 03-8082 2863
hello@sunshine-kingdom.com

所谓“人无信而不立,企业无信而不达”。诚信,代表了一种品行更是一种责任,才能为企业赢得良好的名誉。

Eddie曾在旅游行业服务了十多年,逐渐累积了丰富的管理经验,能力和资源。他于2014年创立了 Sunshine Kingdom 这门生意的启发,源于他从小最爱吃的榴莲。

他的爷爷曾拥有一座榴莲园,在榴莲飘香的环境下,Eddie不仅学会品尝榴莲,对榴莲也产生了更深入的了解。他认为,“臭名昭著”的榴莲属于季节性水果,因此希望本地和国外游客可以随时随刻品尝到美味独特的榴莲,也就让他看到了一丝商机。

想成功必须学会爱上自己的事业,做起事业来就能有激情,效果会事半功倍。旅游业是国家的经济一大支柱,纪念品是推动旅游业的最佳媒介。

为了实现推广和发扬马来西亚榴莲文化的理念,在2013年,Aesos与志同道合的好友黄国隆(创办人)在吉隆坡市中心的旅游区,中央艺术坊开创了第一家Durian Kafe专卖店。店内售卖各类榴莲的即食和包装食品,推荐游客品尝榴莲结合各种食品如咖啡,巧克力,薄饼等等的好味道。由于榴莲产品专卖店的理念深受旅客的欢迎,翌年第二家Durian Kafe分店就在吉隆坡塔开业了。

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s5k04y8isuw

传递榴莲的美味

2018年宣传短片

公司成立于2014年,“Durian Kafe”(榴莲零售店)是基于Aesos Lai设想的T-Shirt设计业务及源自于他的一件T恤设计的概念,专提供游客作为大马纪念品而广受欢迎。Aesos受到了一位亲密的朋友的鼓励,他推测 “Durian Kafe” 的概念可以吸引那些喜欢独特的榴莲相关食品的人,而另一位朋友告诉他,下一个“BIG”的东西会是榴莲,它将越来越受来自中国大陆的游客的欢迎。

凭借这一信念,Aesos(品牌和市场营销)邀请Eddie Wong(零售和运营专家,拥有超过十年的零售店管理经验)与另外两位朋友一起设立Durian Kafe(Sashtri是设计师,而Kaycee是销售和公关人员。 2014年3月,Durian Kafe在中央市场成立。

随后在2014年5月,Aesos向Eddie建议应该创建自己的产品品牌,而不是向供应商购买,以便在Durian Kafe中销售 – 这导致成立了一家名为“Sunshine Kingdom”的新公司(Eddie创造了这个名字) 因为他认为榴莲是“即将到来的”阳光事业。一年后,他们意识到中国游客(主要买家)无法阅读或记住“ 阳光王国“英文品牌名称。为了给中国游客留下更深刻的印象,一个吸引人的产品品牌名称是必要的 – 并且创造了 “曉陽” 这个品牌(这意味着’旅游美食业务将每天带来巨大的财富’) – 这个名字是由Eddie在台湾度假旅行时创造的。

“曉陽”品牌以威化饼乾,曲奇饼及糖果开始,因为此类别的竞争对手并不多,主要的销售区域是机场,特别是KLIA和KLIA2。

作为一家资金有限的初创企业,在前两年的运营中,阳光王国在销售和产品范围方面经历了温和的增长。 随后,凭借对扩大产品范围的坚定承诺,2017 – 2018年业务开始大幅增长,这两年的销售额增长了70%。 今天,Sunshine Kingdom是榴莲产品的品牌领导者。

公司使命

推广和发扬大马“榴莲文化”,让世界各地的人都认识到马来西亚榴莲,也可以享用到榴莲,让马来西亚能够享有“榴莲之国”的美誉,品尝榴莲,认识马来西亚。

公司愿景

Sunshine Kingdom 的愿景是创建和推广信誉良好的食品纪念品业务,特别注重为游客提供精美的包装,美味和优质的食品礼品 – 当他们访问马来西亚时,这是一个“必买品牌”。

未来规划

目前我们有70种榴莲系列产品 —— 下游加工产品,接下来我们会往鲜果、冷冻、烘培的产品出发,致力打造出上下游生产链的结合。我们会开自家品牌的榴莲体验店,让世界各地的人来到马来西亚可以享受榴莲的幸福滋味。

企业文化

所谓“人无信而不立,企业无信而不达”,诚信代表了一种品行更是责任,才能为企业赢得良好的名誉。“诚信赢天下”是我们企业的核心文化,Eddie也设定了八荣八耻的章程。八荣 —— 以尊师重道为荣,以诚信待人为荣,以守时守信为荣,以团结互助为荣,以遵规守矩为荣,以感恩孝道为荣,以奉献付出为荣,以和气生财为荣,努力不懈的把良好文化传承下去。

品牌识别和认可

Sunshine Kingdom打算将榴莲推广为“快乐果实”。一般来说,喜欢/爱榴莲的人在吃水果时会感到高兴。因此,榴莲被视为向该地区的消费者提供“幸福”和“满足”的水果。此外,人们倾向于聚在一起参加“榴莲会”,这表明榴莲是世界上唯一可以团结人民的水果, – Sunshine Kingdom 称之为“榴莲联盟”。

在品牌识别方面,Sunshine Kingdom 通过展示 “Giant Durian”(6英尺纸板榴莲或6英尺半2D玻璃纤维榴莲)而在大多数零售店中脱颖而出,这已成为公司的商标。

此外,Sunshine Kingdom最独特的销售主张是在其咖啡设计包装中采用“孝顺”的方式,其特点是创始人的父母和岳父母 – 这个概念是Aesos的心血结晶,他坚信这种概念可以帮助公司在企业管理,伦理和价值观上建立坚实的基础。

品牌意识和销售促销

为了建立可持续的品牌并促进产品销售,Sunshine Kingdom使用多种渠道:
在印刷媒体上做广告 – 亚航的机上杂志:Travel 360和GoAsiaPlus。
开发产品和企业视频,并将其发布在社交媒体平台上以宣传品牌。
在机场商店和超市进行现场促销,为消费者提供“买4送1”等优惠,促销期间销售额逐步增加30%至50%。

市场

Sunshine Kingdom是马来西亚的 “食品纪念品” 零售商,它的目的是为来自世界各地的游客和商务旅行者提供“真正的马来西亚榴莲体验” – 每个访问马来西亚的人都希望把榴莲产品带回家作为当地风味的“纪念品”。 Sunshine Kingdom产品是专门设计和包装成 “优质食品纪念品”,包括新鲜榴莲,咖啡,茶,巧克力,干货,糖果,饼干和糖果,冷热产品,主要针对亚洲游客和商务旅客,特别是来自中国,印度尼西亚,越南,香港,台湾,新加坡,澳门和东南亚等国家。

这种“以游客为中心”的战略目前导致榴莲相关产品市场份额约为20%,其中95%的客户是游客。

鉴于“食品纪念品” 的趋势在过去几年中稳步增长,并且预计榴莲趋势将在未来五年内进一步增长,Sunshine Kingdom希望在未来五年内占据40%的市场份额。

品牌之旅

2014 :
推出新产品并创造有吸引力的包装设计

2015 :
大力推广产品系列

2016 :
为客户提供 “积极体验” – 专注于打造’SK品牌’(因为产品可以复制,但品牌无法复制)

2017 :
通过加强客户意识(例如亚航的飞行杂志中的广告),品牌赢得了声誉并获得了积极的认知和越来越多的认可

2018 :
品牌反映成功和受欢迎

近期发展

展望未来,Sunshine Kingdom打算不仅向游客推广其品牌,还向当地人宣传品牌,并考虑进入特许经营业务。

为了启动这一过程,Sunshine Kingdom在中央市场开设了一个旗舰店,品牌名为“榴莲王国”。 目标是拥有一站式完整的榴莲体验店,提供各种各样的产品,包括新鲜全榴莲果,包装冷冻榴莲,热榴莲产品(蛋挞,包子,油炸饺子,椰浆饭,热咖啡),冷饮 榴莲产品(Cendol,Ice Kacang,冰咖啡,冰淇淋)以及包装榴莲产品(巧克力,咖啡,冷冻干燥,饼干和糖果)。

致力研发多达

70
不同类型产品

两年内获得多达

20
奖项

分销至多达

200
门市售卖

榴莲东革阿里白咖啡

东革阿里是马来西亚热带雨林的特产,俗称「南洋人参」,被视为独一无二的国宝。喝咖啡是马来西亚华人社会饮食文化中的重要部分,而发源自怡保的「白咖啡」,因为味道香浓顺滑而闻名遐迩,迅速成为咖啡饮品的新宠儿。榴莲和东革阿里一样,都是滋补之物,配合温醇的白咖啡,效力都能发挥得淋漓尽致。

猫山王榴莲白咖啡

「猫山王」堪称「果王之王」,是马来西亚最受欢迎的榴莲。猫山王果肉饱满香浓,口感绵密,味道甘苦更迭,让人食后念念不忘。猫山王果树的生长条件苛刻,产量容易受气候变化的影响,因此价格颇为昂贵。独特的慢速烘培技术让白咖啡发出迷人的香气,与猫山王的浓香配搭出出奇的效果,是本公司的爆款产品。

榴莲巧克力

你知道吗?追溯至六千五百万年前,榴莲与可可树(制造巧克力的原材料)本是一家,有亲缘关系;因此榴莲和巧克力本来就是天作之合的组合,吃过了一定让你念念而不忘。

榴莲夹心黑巧克力

黑巧克力口感浓郁醇厚,味道甘苦更迭,尝之若有「同甘共苦」之感。夹心的榴莲馅从深厚的可可香味中异军突起,迅速侵占您的味蕾,这种措手不及的爆发力,让你吃了一口接一口,欲罢不能。

猫山王榴莲干

有一种榴莲,吃了你会惊喜若狂,赞不绝口,也停不了口 — 它是猫山王!猫山王果肉偏干、表皮干皱、味道甘甜微苦或有酒香味,堪称榴莲中之极品。本「猫山王榴莲」干保存了十足的原味,跟品尝新鲜榴莲一样。

榴莲香饼

传统式的烘焙,是每个马来西亚人小时候的小食品。把麦芽糖和榴莲的结合,当你一咬榴莲和麦芽糖流出,外皮脆松口感一流,让你吃了一口接一口。若配上一杯榴莲咖啡,绝对是人生一大享受。

有趣的事实

· Sunshine Kingdom是第一家拥有马来西亚地标和文化的所有产品包装的公司。
· 阳光王国是马来西亚第一家采用“孝道”方式的公司,其咖啡设计包装以创始人的父母和岳父母为特色。
· 阳光王国是第一家在其榴莲咖啡(Musang King,D24,Durian Kampong)中强调榴莲品种的公司,因其独特的口味。
· 阳光王国是第一家在世界上推出Musang King Kopi Luwak的公司。
· 阳光王国在2014年开始时只有6种产品,并且在短短的4年内,现在已经发展到85种产品。
· Aesos是Eddie的客户,Aesos是吉隆坡国际机场旅游纪念产品的经销商

成就与评估

2014年仅有六款产品,今日Sunshine Kingdom共有85款产品。 对于一个相对年轻的品牌,Sunshine Kingdom获得了惊人数量的荣誉:

· Sunshine Kingdom 是在2018年第一家获得Malaysia Book of Records拥有最多榴莲相关产品的公司。
· Superbrands Award (2018) – 马来西亚第一家获得超级品牌地位的榴莲公司。
· The BrandLaureate Award (2017/2018) – SMEs Best Brands Award @ 零售(小吃和糖果)
· Asia’s Top Leaders’ Award – Top Awards 2018
· Asia’s Top 100 Honesty Brand Award (2017)
· Sin Chew Business Award (2017) – 卓越商业奖
· Asean Outstanding Business Award (2017) – 东盟最受认可的榴莲品牌
· International Prestige Brand Award (2017) – 榴莲包装的最佳品牌
· World Top Gourmet Awards (2017) – 顶级品牌卓越奖
· Malaysia-China Silk Road Award (2016) – 国际企业家卓越奖

游客馈赠亲友首选

27-G, 27-1, 25-G, Jalan Bandar Lapan Belas, Pusat Bandar Puchong, 47160 Puchong, Selangor.
03-8082 4828 | 03-8082 2863
hello@sunshine-kingdom.com